middle_1347692009.jpg (37.61 KiB, 400x322) google saucenao
Learning Japanese No.38

Have any NEETs on here actually tried learning Japanese?

I have been studying for about 3 years and have a beginners level understanding of the language. I like to lurk 2ch/5ch and Futaba and hangout in Japanese discord servers and talk to NEETs

No.39

I sort of do, I've probably been at it a little longer than you but I've only really been serious about it at the beginning. I'm quite okay with listening and reading to some degree with the help of dictionaries but have more trouble expressing myself. Not sure about 2/5ch but don't you need a japanese ip to post on Futaba? I don't use Discord much but what kind of servers do you use? If you don't mind sharing that is.

No.40

>>39
I can read some basic sentences i understand all the different types of Japanese such as casual formal polite and rude and when things such as desu and masu should be used. Hiragana and katakana are easy its kanji that is extremely difficult as well as the Japanese pitch accent. As far as 2ch/5ch and Futaba yes they both ban non-Japan IP addresses so i just lurk i don't post and i hangout in the Japanese NEET/Hikikomori discords and most of them are pretty inactive because the Japanese NEETs don't really talk much they mostly keep to themselves. Even Japanese people i made friends with don't talk much and are off discord most of the time.

No.41

>>40
Yes, katakana and hiragana aren't a problem. Kanji is a continuous learning process, having a browser extension like the old Rikaichan is especially helpful. I, too browse futaba occasionally. Are there any distinct differences between the demographics of 2ch and 5ch ever since the split? As for Discord, are they receptive of non-japanese? What do they talk about?

No.42

>>41
>Are there any distinct differences between the demographics of 2ch and 5ch ever since the split?